Basket empty

Bach Magnificat Vocal Score

The Magnificat in D major, BWV 243, is one of the major vocal works of Johann Sebastian Bach. If you wish to buy Bach Magnificat Score please click Vocal Scores and then FILTER BY COMPOSER.

It was composed for an orchestra and five voices. The text is the canticle of Mary, mother of Jesus, as
recounted by Luke the Evangelist. It is also one of the two large works
Bach composed in Latin; the other being his Mass in B minor, which also shared its use of five voice
parts. Bach composed an initial version in E flat major in 1723 for the Christmas Vespers in Leipzig which
contained several Christmas texts. During the years he removed the Christmas-specific texts to make
it suitable for year-round performance, as well as transposing it to D major, providing better
sonority for the trumpets in particular.
The new version, which is the one usually performed, had its premiere at the Thomaskirche on
July 2, 1733, the fourth Sunday after Trinity Sunday, which was the Feast of the Visitation at the time. 

If you wish to buy Bach Magnificat Vocal Score please click Vocal Scores and then FILTER BY COMPOSER.

The work is divided into twelve parts which can be grouped
into three movements, each beginning with an aria and completed by the choir in a fugal chorus. Its performance lasts approximately thirty minutes.

Click here to see products related to Bach's Magnificat