Basket empty
Website Orders are now up and
running and please see 'Latest News'
below for update on Phone Orders

Mozart Missa Brevis in B Flat Vocal Score

The Missa Brevis No. 9 in B-flat major by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, K. 275/272b, was probably written before September 1777 for Salzburg. The mass is scored for soloists, choir, strings and organ, the latter supplying figured bass for most of the duration. If you wish to buy Mozart's Missa Brevis, please click Vocal Scores and then FILTER BY COMPOSER, or see below for more.

The setting is divided into six movements.

   1. "Kyrie" Allegro, B-flat major, common time
   2. "Gloria" Allegro, B-flat major, 2/4
   3. "Credo" Allegro, B-flat major, common time

          —"Et incarnatus est..." Adagio
          —"Et resurrexit..." Allegro

   4. "Sanctus" Andante, B-flat major, 3/4
   5. "Benedictus" Andante, E-flat major, 3/4

          —"Osanna..." Allegro
          —"excelsis..." B-flat major

   6. "Agnus Dei" Andante, G minor, common time

          —"Dona nobis pacem..." Allegro, B-flat major, cut time

In the Gloria and the Credo, Mozart eschews the traditional concluding fugues. Despite being a missa brevis, the Agnus Dei is very long and there is "a prolonged setting for soloists and choir of 'Dona nobis pacem', ending piano." The Dona nobis is set as a gavotte, "like a vaudeville, and has been compared with the specimen of this genre at the end of Die Entführung."

The premiere probably took place on December 21, 1777, with castrato Francesco Ceccarelli among the soloists singled out for praise for his performance. Elsewhere church musicians were offended, such as those at Wasserburg am Inn, who found Mozart's setting "an open mockery of the holy text."

Click here to view all items related to Mozart's Missa Brevis.