Basket empty
If you prefer you can order without logging in.
0845 304 5070 for Telephone Orders & Advice
Telephone Advice & OrdersTelephone Opening Hours: Mon to Fri 9am to 5.30pm

Haydn Harmoniemesse Vocal Score

The Harmoniemesse in B-flat major by Joseph Haydn, Hob. XXII:14, Novello 6,  was written in 1802. It is because of the prominence of the winds in this mass and "the German terminology for a kind of wind ensemble, Harmonie," that this mass setting is called "Harmoniemesse" or "Wind-Band Mass." Besides flute, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns in B-flat, 2 trumpets in B-flat, the mass also calls for choir, timpani, strings and organ, the latter supplying figured bass for most of the duration. If you wish to buy Haydn's Harmoniemesse, please click Vocal Scores and then FILTER BY COMPOSER, or see below for more.

The setting is divided into six movements.

   1. "Kyrie" Poco Adagio, B-flat major, 3/4
   2. "Gloria" Vivace assai, B-flat major, common time

          —"Gratias agimus..." Allegretto, E-flat major, 3/8
          —"Quoniam tu solus sanctus..." Allegro spiritoso, common time, B-flat major

   3. "Credo" Vivace, B-flat major, common time

          —"Et incarnatus est..." Adagio, E-flat major, 3/4
          —"Et resurrexit..." Vivace, B-flat major, common time
          —"Et vitam venturi..." Vivace, 6/8

   4. "Sanctus" Adagio, B-flat major, 3/4
   5. "Benedictus" Molto Allegro, F major, common time

          —"Osanna..." 3/4, B-flat major

   6. "Agnus Dei" Adagio, G major, 3/4

          —"Dona nobis pacem..." Allegro con spirito, B-flat major, cut time

The Kyrie has "the most striking 'introductory' shock in Haydn's late vocal music ... a rather long orchestral introduction ... [with] unceasing contrasts between soft and loud, and the unexpected entry of G-flat, the flat submediant, in the fifth bar." The Agnus Dei makes reference both to the Adagio of Symphony No. 98 and to Mozart's Coronation Mass.

Click here to view all items related to the Harmoniemesse.