Basket empty
We do apologise for the current
inconvenience. Please see the
Latest News below or send an email to:

Dvorak Stabat Mater Vocal Score

Stabat Mater (Op. 58, originally Op. 28 B. 71) for soli, choir and orchestra is a religious cantata by the Czech composer Antonín Dvořák. The work was sketched in 1876 and completed in 1877.

The composing of the cantata was Dvořák's reaction to the death of his daughter Josefa. The sketch was written between 19 February and 7 May 1876, and was dedicated to František Hušpauer "as a souvenir to the friend of his young days." However, Dvořák was forced to postpone the orchestration of the work, due to his other obligations. He returned to the final stylisation of the composition in 1877, when two of his children (the rest that were alive at that time) died within a short time of each other. The definitive version of the score was written between the beginning of October and 13 November 1877 in Prague. If you wish to buy Dvorak's Stabat Mater, please click Vocal Scores and then FILTER BY COMPOSER, or see below for more.

Stabat Mater is Dvořák's first work on a religious theme. It is divided into ten individual parts; only the first and the last part are thematically connected.

The first performance took place on 23 December 1880 at the concert of the Jednota umělců hudebních (Association of Musical Artists) in Prague. The performers included the opera ensemble of the České prozatímní divadlo (Czech Provisional Theatre), under the baton of the conductor Adolf Čech, with the soloists Eleanora Ehrenberg, Betty Fibich, Antonín Vávra and Karel Čech. The composer Leoš Janáček conducted the work a year and half later, on 2 April 1882, in Brno. Performances abroad (Budapest, London) soon ensued.

The cantata was published in score, parts and piano vocal score (arranged by Dr. Josef Zubatý) by German publishing house N. Simrock in 1881. On this occasion Dvořák also changed the opus number.

Click here to view all items related to Dvořák's Stabat Mater.